Interview with a Writer: Tammye Huf

20140720-210739-76059105.jpg

Tammye Huf is an American born writer living in the UK. I met her recently at Winchester Writer’s Festival and got a chance to discuss her writing life. She has a strong interest in YA Fiction.

Tammye, thank you for your time. Can we talk a little about who you are and why you write? Where are you from?
Originally I’m from the US, mostly California and Connecticut, but I’ve been out of the States since 1993.

Why do you write?
I write because I can’t not write. I’ve tried to stop, when I’ve felt that I ought to be investing my time in other things, like people and relationships. But when I’ve forced myself to stay away for too long I turn into this horrible dragon lady, discontent with herself and the world, and a real pain to be around.

Do you have a specific writing style?
I admire writers who can change their style and voice, and I’ve tried to do that in my own writing.

What books have influenced you the most?
The God of Small Things by Ahrundhati Roy, To Kill a Mockingbird, Harper Lee, The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood, Kazuo Ishiguro’s books, David Mitchell’s books

YA authors I admire include Patrick Ness, Meg Rosoff, Jenny Downhan, and John Green.

What are you reading right now?
The New Republic by Lionel Shriver – It’s a sympathetic satire about terrorism.

What’s your current project about?
Right now I’m working on a story about an Irish man living during the potato famine who immigrates to the US and falls in love with a slave girl. He buys her freedom to marry her and finds that to be together, he has to give up his rights and privileges as a white man. The story is based on my own ancestry.

What’s the hardest part of writing?
For me, plotting is the hardest. And finding the right climax to finish off the story.

Do you have any advice for new writers?
Read lots, find a critique group, and write, write, write.

Thank you Tammye and good luck with your writing.

Leave a Reply

