Artisinal Publishing

20140311-175747.jpg

So I’ve taken the plunge and independently published my short story collection, Fallout, on Kindle. I’m very proud of how it turned out but it feels like I’m only at the beginning of a very long journey. Publishing the book is only the start. Next is reaching readers. Because what’s the point of writing if you don’t want to be read?

Marketing is the next mountain to climb. However, I have learned a lot though the process of creating the eBook that I thought I might share.

I chose Amazon Kindle as my first choice for publishing because it seemed the most straightforward of the eBook sellers. And it has a global reach.

Formatting wasn’t much of an issue really once you follow a few simple rules.

Create your document in Word.
Keep things simple.
Use a clear font, (I like Garamond) and be consistent.
Include a page break for every new story or chapter. Otherwise pages run into each other.
Also avoid diagrams or bullet points, they don’t transfer well to the Kindle formatting.
Have it edited and proofread by someone who knows what they are doing.
Save the document as a HTML file (Web page unfiltered.) before you upload it to KDP.
Give a lot of thought to the cover. I advise colourful, graphic covers.

That’s pretty much it.

If you live outside the U.S. like me, you don’t require a tax number but Amazon will hold 30% to cover tax.

If I was recommending one book to read on independent publishing it has to be Guy Kawasaki and Shawn Welch’s APE, Author, Publisher, Entrepeneur. It gives great advice and is worth reading if only for the idea of Artisinal publishing. For a control freak like me I love the idea of owning all parts of the process of creating my book. It’s great if you love to create and wish to have complete control of what you publish. The only downside is that the success or failure of the book falls to you. There’s no one else to blame.

Which brings us back neatly to marketing…

One thought on “Artisinal Publishing

Leave a Reply

